Movies & Television

How to read Anne Rice's Mayfair Witches in reading order

Here’s how to read Anne Rice’s Mayfair Witches in reading order as AMC’s spooky supernatural TV series premieres.

Mayfair Witches sees Alexandra Daddario take the lead as Dr Rowan Mayfair, a neurosurgeon, who comes to realize she has newfound powers and is part of an old coven.

The supernatural series premiered on the network channel on Sunday, January 8, 2023, and now fans of the show want to take a gander into the world of author Anne Rice and where they can read the Mayfair Witches books in order.

Let’s light a fire, drink wine from a goblet, and get stuck into the correct order of ‘Lives of the Mayfair Witches’.

Anne Rice’s Lives of the Mayfair Witches Books In Order

The very first book in The Lives of the Mayfair Witches trilogy is The Witching Hour, first released in 1990. This book will familiarize bookworms with Rowan Mayfair and how she comes to terms with her witchery powers. It will also investigate the Mayfair family tree as well as take readers on a journey outside of New Orleans to places like Amsterdam and Scotland, to name a few.

The next book readers will need to read in the trilogy is Lasher. This one came out in 1993 and is named after the evil spirit that has plagued the Mayfair family which also sees Rowan Mayfair as the central focus.

Last but not least, Taltos is the last novel in The Lives of the Mayfair Witches trilogy. Hitting shelves in 1994, the book is packed with demons and many other twists and turns that revealing too much would just spoil it! You’ll have to find out all the juicy content for yourself but it’s one not to miss.

Books by Anne Rice you might enjoy if you like Mayfair Witches

In these novels, the Mayfair Witches become part of the Vampire Chronicles world.

  • Merrick
  • Blackwood Farm
  • Blood Canticle

Other well-known Anne Rice novels to read

  • Interview with the Vampire
  • The Vampire Lestat
  • Queen of the Damned
  • The Tale of the Body Thief
Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
or Comment Below

Gaming Trailers

Rachael Fiddis

"Rachael Fiddis is a senior group editor for entertainment and gaming at GRV Media. Her day-to-day duties include training writers on article structure, editing, good SEO practices, and making sure all content is ready for publication across the board on The Focus, Reality Titbit, HITC gaming, and Forever Geek. Although her writing passion began much sooner, Rachael's career kicked off in 2016 by volunteering at a gaming site and gaining experience constructing news articles and reviews. She quickly moved on to become a full-time journalist at DualShockers, morphing into its head of culture and news editor. Rachael was promoted to HITC gaming's editor in chief which then turned into a border role across GRV Media in the form of a senior group editor where she liaisons with management and writers frequently. When not knee-deep in words, Rachael can be found up a mountain somewhere or being her best geeky self. "

Read more of Rachael's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know