A Couple of Cuckoos anime to be released over two back-to-back cours

Featured

As fans countdown to the A Couple of Cuckoos anime adaptation, set to release later today, April 23, the series has just confirmed it will run over two cours.

The Spring 2022 anime slate is now cruising towards the end of its first month and anime fans around the world are enjoying some of the best new shows on offer.

Whilst every fan will have their own personal list of new anime, arguably the three biggest shows of the new slate are Kaguya-sama: Love is War – Ultra Romantic, Spy x Family and A Couple of Cuckoos.

The latter series, A Couple of Cuckoos, has garnered an impressive reputation on the internet over the past several years for being one of the best romantic comedy manga’s out there. Now, with the anime adaptation set to premiere later today, we can confirm that A Couple of Cuckoos will run over two back-to-back broadcast cours.

A Couple of Cuckoos | Official Teaser

BridTV
7113
A Couple of Cuckoos | Official Teaser
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/ZQFJMLnRDOA/hqdefault.jpg
916554
916554
center
32600

A Couple of Cuckoos anime adaptation

The upcoming anime, A Couple of Cuckoos, is an adaptation of Miki Yoshikawa’s hit manga series, which began serialisation in the Weekly Shonen Magazine back in September 2019.

The series tells the story of Nagi Umino, a second-year high school student who was accidentally switched at birth into an adoptive family. On the day that he is going to meet his real family, he meets “the brash, outspoken, Erika Amano, who is determined to make Nagi her fake boyfriend as she never wants to actually marry.”

“But once Nagi makes it to dinner, he finds his parents have decided to resolve the hospital switch by conveniently having him marry the daughter his birth parents raised…who turns out to be none other than Erika herself!” – Series caption, Kodansha US.

A Couple of Cuckoos TV series is animated by Shin-Ei Animation (Those Snow White Notes) and SynergySP (Battle Game in 5 Seconds), with Yoshiyuki Shirahata serving as the director (UzaMaid: Our Maid Is Way Too Annoying).

A Couple of Cuckoos | Official Trailer 4 | Crunchyroll

BridTV
8154
A Couple of Cuckoos | Official Trailer 4 | Crunchyroll
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/4dhHnE_Jsbo/hqdefault.jpg
949126
949126
center
32600

A Couple of Cuckoos anime release and streaming

A Couple of Cuckoos will premiere first on the Japanese television network TV Asahi’s NUMAnimation block at 1:30 AM JST on Sunday, April 24th, 2022. The anime will then be simulcast exclusively on Crunchyroll, following their merger with Funimation earlier this year, which will release internationally on Saturday, April 23rd.

This week, Crunchyroll confirmed that episode 1 will premiere from the following international times:

  • Pacific Time: 11 AM PDT
  • Central Time: 1 PM CDT
  • Eastern Time: 2 PM EDT
  • British Time: 7 PM BST
  • European Time: 8 PM CEST
  • India Time: 11.30 PM IST
  • Philippine Time: 2 AM PHT (April 24)
  • Australia Time: 3.30 AM ACST (April 24)

The same article also revealed that the series will be available for fans in North America, Central America, South America, Europe, Africa, Oceania, the Middle East and CIS.

However, it has also just been revealed that the series will be broadcast over two cours, i.e., three-month programming blocks, with a total of 24 episodes.

This means that A Couple of Cuckoos season 1 will have two 12-episode parts, with part 2 following directly on from the Spring slate through until October 2nd.

  • MADE IN ABYSS: Season 2 confirmed to release in July 2022 after 4-year break

Where to read the English manga

If you can’t wait for the anime adaptation of A Couple of Cuckoos to start, why not try reading the original manga series by Miki Yoshikawa?

At the time of writing, 11 volumes have been published in Japan, with the 12th set to release on May 17th. However, only six of those volumes have yet been published in English with Kodansha, with volume 7 set to launch on May 3rd, 2022.

You can purchase copies of the first volume online from Amazon Kindle, Apple Books, Bookwalker, Comixology, Google Play, Izneo, Kobo, MyAnimeList and Barnes & Noble.

  • MASAMUNE-KUN: Season 2 confirmed after April Fool’s Day shenanigans

By Tom Llewellyn – [email protected]

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know
or Comment Below
LOGIN to Comment
LOGIN to Comment
Tom Llewellyn
@grvadmin

As the resident-geek at HITC Entertainment, Tom covers everything from anime and manga to Korean dramas and World TV. Tom boasts an undergraduate degree in both Animal Behaviour from Aberystwyth University and a postgraduate degree Science Communications from UWE Bristol and has over 5 years’ experience in writing about the weird and wonderful world of global entertainment.

Read more of Tom's articles

Got a tip?

Let us know